Research and Awards

Awards and Recognitions

The following Chicago Booth faculty have been recognized for their contributions to study and society by some of the most respected institutions in their fields.

Ray Ball, Sidney Davidson Distinguished Service Professor of Accounting

Philip G. Berger, Wallman Family Professor of Accounting and editor, Journal of Accounting Research.

Christian Leuz, Joseph Sondheimer Professor of International Economics, Finance and Accounting

Michael Minnis, Assistant professor of accounting

Douglas J. Skinner, Eric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Accounting and executive director of ARC

  • The University of Chicago’s 2013 Emory Williams Award, recognizing demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Ernest R. Wish, ’71 (XP-29), is a donor to the accounting group at Chicago Booth and founder and fundraiser for the Ernest R. Wish Fund that bears his name. Monetary awards are given for best paper to nontenured accounting faculty every other year. The fund also provides periodic awards to PhD students in accounting.

2017: Hans Christensen and Mark Maffett, "The Real Effects of Mandated Information on Social Responsibility in Financial Reports: Evidence from Mine-Safety Records"

2015: Michael Minnis, "The Value of Financial Statement Verification in Debt Financing: Evidence from Private U.S. Firms"

2013: Sarah L.C. Zechman, “Executive Overconfidence and the Slippery Slope to Financial Misreporting”

2013: Hans B. Christensen and Valeri V. Nikolaev, Capital Versus Performance Covenants in Debt Contracts”

2011: Regina Wittenberg Moerman, “The Impact of Financial Reporting Quality on Debt Contracting: Evidence from Internal Control Weakness Reports”

2009: Jonathan L. Rogers, “Disclosure Quality and Management Trading Incentives”

2007: Suraj Srinivasan, “Consequences of Financial Reporting Failure for Outside Directors: Evidence from Accounting Restatements and Audit Committee Members”

2005: Haresh Sapra, “Do Mandatory Hedge Disclosures Discourage or Encourage Excessive Speculation?”

2003: Daniel Bens and M.H. Franco Wong, “Employee Stock Options, EPS Dilution, and Stock Repurchases”

2002: Darren T. Roulstone, “The Relation between Insider-Trading Restrictions and Executive Compensation”

2001: Joseph D. Piotroski, “Value Investing: The Use of Historical Financial Statement Information to Separate Winners from Losers” (PDF)

The above faculty have received awards and recognition from organizations around the world.